Happiness is a mental illness

I had a doctor’s appointment booked tonight for something and I thought I would mention that I was feeling slightly manic recently and that I haven’t really managed to get more than 5/6 hours sleep a night since I became a tea-total.

I also explained to her what happened to me after my husband and I split up, when I stopped alcohol and drugs straight and went into a big manic phase which got out of control and for which I had treatment to give her some background as to why I felt I needed to mention my current mood.

Well, she is referring to a psychiatrist for assessment and talked about possible mood stabilisers (apparently much better than they used to be). She said when someone says they are happy all the time, it rings alarm bells to her. A friend of mine said something similar recently “No-one can be happy all the time”.

Well, guess what? As I am sitting here typing, tears are filling my eyes. It seems being happy is a mental illness.

I know I have been manic recently, but for the first time in my life, I am living free from addictions (dope, alcohol and toxic relationships) and re-discovering the world in a different light.

I have everything I need to be happy. I have a job I truly love, I have good friends, I have two lovely kitties, I have a nice house which doesn’t cost me a fortune, I have a car, I earn enough money that I don’t have to need for anything. I am closer than ever to my family, I am having healthy fun in my life. I have started successful worthy projects, I have reconnected with people I had neglected during my depression, I have made up with my husband and forgiven my best friend for being with him. I am now starting to turn my attention to what I can bring to the world and people who may need help and it brings me great pleasure.

Yet I should be on medication.

Funny thing happened when I was starting to type I was feeling tearful. A man, a Rastafarian, knocked on my door. He was looking for a house on the estate, No 8 something Close.

He said as I opened the door, “I know this isn’t the right place because the number is different but I don’t know where to look”.

I offered to look up the direction and asked him to come in. I showed him where he needed to go and as he left, he said he was going to visit his grandchildren that he hadn’t seen for a long time, you could see the happiness on his face, mixed with some sadness in his eyes. I smiled, feeling happy for him, and happy that I was there to help him find his way.

How many people would have opened the door to this man and told him he was at the wrong house and sent him on his way?

That little moment of connection we shared when he told me about his excitement of seeing his little ones was all I needed to make me realise I am not going crazy: Life really is wonderful and full of special moments.

Three times during our little encounter he said “God bless you”. I am not religious, but I felt what he was telling me. I realise he probably wasn’t expecting the welcome he got. This warmed my heart and left me with a big smile.

I am learning to appreciate life now I have nothing to worry about and sometimes I get a little over excited. After 23 years of repressing my feelings, I’m not surprised sometimes, all this processing gets a bit much.

And now to convince the “experts”. Perfect timing actually since I have been wondering what my contribution to the mental health issue could be.

And anyway, that doctor gave me something serious to worry about: apparently, I am one kilo in the obese zone. Bummer.

3 comments on “Happiness is a mental illness

  1. as long as your healthy can sleep at night and do not make rash decision (had a friend with mania depression and she would rack up thousands on her credit cards during mania stages)do not make rush or rash decision when handling equipment like a chain saw and when driving a car and do not have a heart attack I see nothing wrong with being happy, provided you don’t lose touch with reality. in others words don’t be happy when you see some one get hit by a car or something, if you know what I mean, I know it is a sad day when happy people are considered ill, yes it is true there are manic stages that lead to disaser and crashes but not everyone is like that, as long as you don’t crash and balance out you will be okay if you crash then tht is another matter. My friend I mentioned when she was in her mania stage frankly Ilike her and all but she drove everyone around her crazy. she did me too sometimes.

  2. Hi Roberta 🙂 thanks for your contribution.

    I think I am ok, I think my “manicness” is only caused by a lot of excitement about all the good things happening in my life at the moment,

    I still have normal emotions, I cry when something is sad, get angry when something is unjust, and so on. I will keep a close eye on my sleeping pattern though, I only sleep 5/6 hours enough and I am told that isn’t enough. Although Thatcher only slept 4 hours a night I believe…mind you some called her crazy 😉

    Money wise, I haven’t felt any urges whatsoever to buy anything out of character. I did look into getting a cheap campervan but decided it wasn’t something I needed at the moment, so I seem to be able to make level-headed decisions, phew!

    Have a good day 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Law of Attraction | The Problem with the World: People, Me

Leave a Reply

