Ignorance truly is bliss

I had an interesting little exchange with a friend on FB following a picture I posted today:

Image

 

That photo depicts to me all that is right about Africa, continent I have visited often, and where I took my wedding vows, lovely little ceremony surrounded by villagers, very fond memories.

The Africans still unspoiled by the white man’s desire to “better” the continent truly know how to entertain themselves with the very little they have and how to be happy.

My friend posted a link to a funny article about an experiment he’d come across:

Ethopian kids and modern technology.

As fun as the article was, it brought up to me the pondering whether African really needed the white man to “better” themselves.

My friend concluded that what Africa needed was access to knowledge and good infrastructure. I said that I felt the white man should concentrate on making sure they had food and good water first.

But this made me re-visit the knowledge question. 

When I went through a manic phase after my marriage breakdown, I had what I believe is the typical big “awakening” that there is a God. Curious as I am I did some research on a couple of bible stories that “came my way” (more about this another time).

One of them though was the Adam and Eve story. The story that explains where it all went wrong for human beings. 

I’m sure there are many versions and I am no expert, but this is how I understand it:

Adam and Eve lived very happy in the garden of Eden, a real paradise.

A serpent comes along and decides to tempt Eve to eat a fruit from a tree I understand God had told them not to touch as it was “the tree of knowledge of good and evil”.

When she hesitated, the serpent promised her : “You will not certainly die” and that “God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil”.

Tempted that the “fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom”, she eats some, so does Adam. Very soon, they start to feel prudish and decide to cover themselves with leaves (they were of course naked before).

When God finds out,  he gets furious and punishes them. And this is why men have to work these days and women suffer in child birth.

“God then passes judgment for the disobedience of the man and woman, condemning the man to sustain life through hard labor and the woman to create new life through painful childbirth”

Paradise over. What for? Knowledge.

[I’ll write more on this at some other point.]

” ” from Wiki

Leave a Reply

