My Take on Organised Religions, jeebus and everything

I was having a tough morning today, a lot of thinking about my husband and how I miss him, some thinking about the last chap I went out with too and how I miss him – is it possible to love more than one person? I believe so.

As I was looking through old pictures of my dog, and my previous life with my husband, resigned to the fact that today was going to be a sad day, there was a knock at my door.

As I opened the door, I beamed. It was Richard, a Jehovah’s Witness I knew very well for him and his wife came to visit me Saturdays after Saturdays when I was going through depression.

Now, I’m very well aware of the bad publicity these guys get, but they were there for me when I needed human contact, and for this I will be for ever grateful.

In fact, it was two ladies Witnesses who started me thinking about a higher power back in 1993. Again, they knocked on my door, I was bored and feeling low, so I let them in and had a thoroughly enjoyable discussion with them.

Those people are more than happy to discuss your ideas, and without a shadow of aggression – try them one day, if you are lucky to get that knock, you might be pleasantly surprised.

Richard didn’t want to come in but just wanted to see how I was doing. Lucky for him, and me, I am not working at the moment so I was in.

We had a great chat…I believe when he left, he had a lot to think about.

Discussing how I feel with other people is how I fix my ideas. I like a debate, I like to hear different views, because I don’t pretend to know all the answers and I like to hear what others have experienced that got them to their current thinking.

I mentioned in an earlier post I had a problem with the Jeebus story. And also with God for what I see as him abandoning his people too easily.

My thinking became much clearer after speaking to Richard, especially when I saw him stumped and not able to “argue” with what I was saying.

Why I hate organised religions

Every organised religion is based on one major principle: Blind Faith. Here is the word of God and it must be obeyed. Because look at what happened to Adam and Eve when they didn’t.

I cannot have blind faith. To me, this is what is responsible for so much of the bad stuff in the world.

Instead of thinking for themselves, people have blind faith that if they follow a set of rules, they’ll be fine. Sometimes it does good, eg, if we really must, Mother Theresa, sometimes it does bad, eg, suicide bombers, and on a non-religious level Hitler.

I have a brain and I have a heart, I have a rough idea of what is good and what is bad and I am happy to learn what I don’t know as I go along – my motto is simple : Be good, Do good, Feel good.

Learning how to be good is a process, granted, but it’s feasible, even for someone as impatient as me.

Why I am upset with God for the Adam and Eve Story

Richard explained to me that the mistake Adam and Eve did was not to listen to God. I said God was obviously too demanding of them, and actually made a big mistake banishing them from Eden.

That actually created this blind faith we see these days: People are scared of the wrath of God and therefore blindly believe whatever they feel they should to ensure eternal life (in heaven).

I gave him a simple example of why I think it’s bad.

I gave him the example of a child being given a really cool toy to play with and a little one to leave alone, by his father.

He is told not to touch the little one and not to question why, and he isn’t even told of the consequences of touching that little one. However, he can play with the big one as much as he wants.

You’ve been a child, what do you reckon that child will do?

Yes he will play with the big one for a while and eventually his eyes will go to the little one and want to play with it. He won’t even ask himself too many questions as he is a child, but also he hasn’t been told why he shouldn’t play with it.

So he grabs it, think “bah, wasn’t that big a deal” and he puts it in his pocket. His father sees that and becomes furious and take the big toy away from him and tells him to go to his room with no dinner tonight.

That poor child will sit there on his bed, looking at the little toy and probably cry his eyes out.

He will never forget what has happened but he will never understand why it happened. And he will try to find a way for that little toy to replace the big toy, in vain, because that big one was so much better.

That child will probably be marked for life, and most possible resent his father too.

Adam and Eve were children, as they were as pure as it comes – and there is nothing purer than children.

How could God expect to Adam and Eve not to want to “eat from the tree of knowledge”? How cruel of him to put temptation there for them? Who does he think he is to require blind faith? People need to be able to make decisions for themselves, otherwise they get clouded even more by the influence of others who think they know what is good and bad.

That’s why I told Richard that although I really respected him for the work he is doing, I will not go to his Church because I need to find my own connection directly myself.

The Jeebus thing

Ok there was a guy called Jesus and he was a very special guy. God’s only son apparently. He felt really special and that he had been chosen to “spread the word”.

Well, in my books, we are all children on God for starters. We are all very special for seconds, and we all “spread the word” (the love/goodness) however we can. Through music, books, films, painting, blogs, interactions etc.

We don’t all go around thinking we are Jeebus though. I think the guy discovered faith and its power (the law of attraction principle) and it let it go to his head a bit and decided he should try and save the people, as many as he could, a bit like Jehovah’s witnesses do. It started from a good intention but had a terrible ending.

I also said to Richard that I had a problem with Jesus’s ending if that was the wish of God, that would mean that God has an evil side.

NO-ONE who is truly good would ever inflict this on a person. EVER.

I reckon people inflicted this on Jesus because all of the non-sense he seemed to be talking, like they use to burn witches.

Yes he might have been resurrected as maybe God felt really bad about what happened to him. Jesus had faith, I do not doubt that.

Richard then said the usual “but Jesus died for all our sins”. I told him there is only one person I ever want to die for my sins and that is ME. I am responsible for my own mistakes, no other human being is. That had him a bit puzzled.

The thing is, and I explained that to him, I don’t have a clue what will happen to my soul when I die. But I know for sure I want my small stay on this earth to have a positive contribution. So I don’t “sin” because of my motto : Be Good, Do Good, Feel Good. When I have “sinned” I have felt like crap, it’s a pretty easy way to recognise if you are on the right path or not really.

Moreover, that is a very dangerous idea to put in people’s head, it means they don’t really have to take responsibility for their actions because someone else has already paid for their mistakes.

He then said I should focus on the future. I said I am quite happy to focus on the moment at present. Who knows what the future will bring, I could be dead tomorrow.

I have also realised the Devil doesn’t exist (he said it was a fallen angel or something). I told him we all had the power to know the difference between good and bad, because in this day in age, we can be informed enough to know. And we all have a heart, emotions, which easily tell us if what we are doing is the right thing – again, the motto comes to mind:

Be good, Do good, Feel good

Personally, if I want to “worship” something, it is the Moon and the Sun as without them, we wouldn’t be here. Long may they last.

Image

Leave a Reply

