Lucky escape!

I got all excited this morning, I thought I had found the way to live my dream life! Except, I found out it was a scam…

I spent an hour getting really excited watching a powerful video from a company called the Empower Network this morning – the whole thing was so captivating and energising, and I left for work dreaming that this was the answer to my blockage about money and that I could live the life I wanted – mainly earn money doing what I love, writing and surfing the net, and travelling.

Well, I watched the end of the video this evening and all the time I had watched it, the “buy now before it’s too late” tagline below the video was distracting me. If that isn’t a sign that it might be a scam, I don’t know what is.

It was advertised at only $25, bargain really. 

Something didn’t sit easy with me. I have mentioned before but I noticed soon after I started this blog I got some strange followers, people who apparently lived their dream life, making money from the internet. I wasn’t duped. What on earth were they doing following my blog?

This new follower this morning nearly had me fooled, I will admit. I always check follower’s blogs, to see what type of person they are and because I am curious. This one boasted that he made so much money from his blog/the internet that his whole lifestyle had changed and he now could travel the world and not worry about money. That sure got me intrigued, as travelling the world has appealed to me a lot recently and so I signed up to his “newsletter” to find out how he could do it. An email arrived with a link to the video I was glued to for an hour. I can’t believe I actually watched the whole thing!

Anyway, I soon realised that the $25 fee was a monthly one…At first I thought it was a small price to pay for a dream life. Then I saw some of the small print below the payment part which unsettled me: 

“Folks – obviously, the income examples shown are extraordinary. The income claims presented are not intended to serve as a guarantee of income. Instead, they’re designed to give you an idea of what’s possible”

As the whole video concentrated on selling you the reality that you can earn an income that would exceed all expectations and you would soon live an extraordinary life, doing everything you want to do for very little work, I found their small print statement a bit confusing. So I decided to do some research. And indeed soon enough I realised it was a scam. Well not your usual scam per say, but the idea was to share the video on and get the commission if someone bought the product – and to earn that privilege cost you more than the $25 a month. And really, very much like a pyramid scam, the people at the top were the ones with their lavish lifestyles whilst the ones at the bottom would be left wondering what they are doing wrong.

Anyway, so my dream of living in hotter countries, by the seaside, earning money writing got dashed. Well maybe not just yet as this little experience told me what it was I really wanted to be doing in my “dream life” so I may be able to start on my life video soon. I have a great idea for a new blog which has been going around in my head and I hope to one day find a way to successfully make money from writing it the ethical way.

I must say I am getting fed up to see how many people are trying to make money out of you by selling you your dreams.

Leave a Reply

