Do-Be-Do-Be-Do-Be

I think I have finally discovered my life passion 🙂

Up to now, if people would ask me what gets me passionate, I just wouldn’t know what to answer. I would always admire people who would have a passion too, whether it be being an artist, or a keen reader or writer, a traveller, a horse rider, a mum even! Anything that really grabs you. The ultimate escape to the Now moment. You know, the kind of activity you are so engrossed in, you forget “time”.

Well, I have realised that I have finally found my passion, and I am pretty pleased with it too because I have a feeling it is going to take me a long time before I can get bored of it.

I inadvertently fell on “my passion” recently: self-actualizing, probably a month ago or two ago, I cannot recall (see it’s already working, so engrossed I have lost track of time), when I started wanting to self-actualize.

Growyourself

See, to self-actualized, you have to understand everything about you. What makes you, what breaks you, why – the emotional side and the scientific side. And when you finally get all that, you “self-actualize”. It’s not quite becoming enlightened but I suspect it’s as close as it gets.

I am sure there are many a better definition for the term, but here’s a simple one: ” Psychology 1. the achievement of one’s full potential through creativity, independence, spontaneity, and a grasp of the real world.”

light

To be honest, I don’t even care for the end result, the journey to me is most amazing.

I think to self-actualize, you need certain “talents”:

  • Curiosity – lashes off, you need to want to find out all there is to know about a given subject.
  • Open mindedness: you need to be able to put all your preconceived ideas away and receive new ones. You need to be able to listen to other people’s point of views to really understand what they mean, not merely just to put your point across.
  • Critical thinking – you cannot and should never “believe” the first thing you read on a given subject. You need to look for the opposite view, you need to see those individuals in debates, read a ton, listen to podcasts etc. You need to be able to make your OWN mind up. The only way to do this, for me, is to have all the available facts I can.
  • Don’t bullshit yourself (I stole that one from Leo from the actualized.org site, more about that below): Be critical of your own thoughts and behaviour, don’t just excuse them.
  • Do-Be-Do-Be-Do-Be: this is an expression I heard yesterday from a chap called Amit Gosomething. I think this is probably the most important part of the process: do (the work) and be (relax) on alternate basis.

The work for me currently is to listen to other people’s opinions/reasoning/point of views on a subject and sometimes see how it compares to mine. Doing this often takes me to a different subject. As I listen, I make notes of stuff I need to revisit. My list of things to revisit is growing, here is a taster, in no order:

  • the Ego – My Ego
  • Tolerance
  • Betrayal
  • Life purpose
  • Mindfulness
  • Meditation
  • Psychosis
  • Manifestation
  • Synchronicity
  • Transcendence
  • Emotional Intelligence
  • Quantum physics (in relation to the psyche)
  • Islam/Religions
  • +

When I start on a subject, I look up what “people in the know” have to say about it – mainly youtube, ebooks or mp3 format that I can take with me when I walk. And as I go along in my research, I sometimes get answers on another subject, or I get more questions that need investigating, the fun never ends! My pad is always at the ready for me to jot down notes too, organised in sections as much as possible that make some sense, or I have my phone to make electronic mental notes of stuff I need to look up/get my head around when I am out and about.

And then I am learning to “be” as well.

When I feel the need to be, I listen to chill out music, try meditation, take my friend’s dog for a walk every evening after work, write my blog on occasion, check out my new facebook account see if there is anything fun or interesting there, read a novel, clean my house, go to lunch with friends, work, take a break to the seaside….here too the list seems endless. Funnily though, I haven’t watched TV or Netflix since starting this journey.

I have finally realised what had been wrong with me all these years: my brain badly needed stimulating, stretching, learning, discovering on an ongoing basis. There’s nothing better to accomplish this than study the mind/consciousness. Luckily, I now have all the space and time to do this at my own pace 🙂

If you are interested in self-actualizing, here is a great site to get you started: Actualized.org

As a taster, albeit a long one, of Leo’s ways, here is a video he released today:

Masculinity vs Femininity

Leave a Reply

