Lifestyle change ultimate reward

keep-calm-and-change-your-lifestyle-4

As you will know if you follow this blog, I made some “drastic” lifestyle changes in my life since about June, so about six months now.

The lifestyle changes were targeted at two areas of my life: my food diet and my mind diet.

I mentioned in my previous post how it seems the food diet lifestyle change has already showed some amazing results (loss weight), recently, I have become aware this period of introspection/contemplation I have started is changing me into the person I always wanted to be: happy in my own skin, whatever is going on around me.

I mentioned previously my company is going through a big restructure currently, where jobs are either at risk or will change from they currently are, with lower benefits and salaries.

I also mentioned how the news had affected me: very little.

Still, I paid attention to what was happening, and decided to start looking for a job last Sunday, I had thought my career was the next thing on the list to tackle anyway, no time like the present. No pressure though.

So I spent a few hours Sunday morning finalising my CV and applying for jobs, I found eight to apply for which matched my current job and salary expectations, not a bad start I thought.

Within hours of sending out my CV I received a phone call from a guy from an agency (on a Sunday!) (incidentally the same agency who placed me where I am now some seven years ago), very excitedly telling me when he saw my CV ping in and took a look, the spec of the job I had applied for was exactly what I do now, but on top of it they had wanted someone who spoke French too but had given up on the idea.

He sends me the job spec, I see what he means!, ask him to forward my details.

What followed was a bit of a whirlwind week, where I took two telephone interviews and then the second interview (face to face) which took place yesterday (Friday), I met with or spoke to seven people all in all (eight with the receptionist, who was absolutely lovely).

Luckily, I wasn’t well from Wednesday so I wasn’t at work – nothing drastic just a skin irritation that makes movement a bit sore. That meant I had all the space to process what was happening without any pressure.

Everything about the interview process went like a dream. Every conversation I had was stimulating and fun, whether over the phone or in person. So much so the interview yesterday ended up being three hours, and clearly much longer than they had anticipated. I engaged fully with every person I met and time just flew.

This was definitely a company I wanted to work for and people I wanted to work with. Absolutely 100% without a shadow of a doubt. (This has never happened to me before). And they had made no attempts to hide the fact that they wanted me too, from the very start too. eg I found out within 20 mns of the phone interview they wanted to bring me in asap for a second interview – which shocked me at the time as I knew the manager I had spoken with was going straight into a video conference where he would be speaking to children of employees in Canada about something or other (found out at the interview the equipment hadn’t worked or they hadn’t turned up, he wasn’t sure what had happened, so I realised how that response had been so quick in the end).

I first met with the manager, whom I had had a great telephone interview with, and whom I had already “met” online – had looked up his Facebook page to see what kind of a person he was (luckily he had an unusual name so easy to find): happily married young family man, active, loves his young boys, beautiful wife – was kinda fun knowing exactly what he looked like before I met him, and we had quite a grueling session – he had a page with a list of probably about 20 questions – I had a few but pertinent just as grueling questions for him too, yet it felt like an “interesting chat”, both enjoying the challenge we were put under and also sharing our passion for Service Desks and customer service along the way. Then I had three further meetings/testing with various individuals which went just as smoothly.

The three hour interview actually felt like fun to me, meeting such interesting individuals, and it also gave me the opportunity to share my passion for my work with others who clearly had the same passion for it too.

Most of all, I was me. Throughout the whole process I never once hesitated in my responses, every flew, I also became animated when we moved on to subjects that were particular favourites of mine (there were many!), and so did they (become animated).

My potential new manager even provided me with the right word when he asked me what area I may need to work on, I explained the situations I had found myself in the past where I realised I needed to handle things differently, struggling to find the right word, and he came up with “A little pushy maybe?” – Perfect! Yes, I can be a “little” pushy when I deal with other people (particularly the ones who aren’t doing their job right). I think he may have liked that “bad trait” of mine ;-). I was very impressed how well he could read me.

I had a stimulating experience with every single person I met during my second interview.

So I came home on Friday feeling a bit on air and eagerly awaiting the phone call. I wasn’t stressing over it, at all, just eager to see where this was going to go. I had a faint thought I might be overqualified for the job but it came and went.

I feed back to the Agency when they call me, I feed back to my mum too and decide to relax on the sofa, reviewing the morning in my head, just for fun. I was sure never going to concentrate on anything with all these good thoughts/feelings I was experiencing and I treated myself to being mindful of the experience.

The call came late afternoon, I had a feeling something had been amiss due to the amount of time it was taking but I had reasoned the HR boss person was off that day (she had explained at the phone interview I had with her) so may be no decisions could be made in her absence.

The agency guy launched straight into their feedback – extremely positive in all areas the interview had covered – then he said they are offering me the job BUT.

Now, they were advertising for quite a junior ish role in IT Support (hence why I had that fleeting thought I was overqualified), however the salary range was quite good, so I had said to the agency, if I went for it, it would only be at the top end of the range. He said at the time, he would absolutely push me to the top range not a problem. But I wasn’t sure if he had communicated this to them yet so the salary mark was always up in the air. I am not motivated by money, but I know my worth.

Well apparently I don’t know my worth…

So they were offering me the job BUT with “Senior” in front and with a salary £2k above what I had (been worried about) asked for! He also mentioned they wanted to make me Senior because they felt with my experience and work ethics I would be a great role model/influence on the more junior staff – junior staff that I had met as the final part of the interview, a more casual chat over coffee, and again, a great chat with them. Even got them interested in Mindfulness 😉

Funnily enough, as well as this fleeting thought that I might be overqualified, I also had a fleeting thought maybe they would offer me more and/or a different job…

So there you have it, five days after I started looking for work, I got myself a new job, that pays over £4k than what I earn now. A job I have the feeling is perfect for me, in so many aspects I won’t bore you with the details.

Funny what starts to happen when you become true to yourself. Because in my opinion and from my observations, this is what happened there. Because I have started to deal with my failings, I have become more confident about my true self and values, my mind is no longer tied up in convoluted thoughts, and I am able to properly listen to other people, engage with them, observe and learn.

Now I am no longer distracted by stuff that may be going on my head, I am able to be present in the moment, and it’s true what they say, the present is a wonderful place to live in 🙂

Present_Moment

3 comments on “Lifestyle change ultimate reward

  1. Great post! And, congratulations!! Well done my friend! Now, I’ll be expecting you to come for a visit, since you’re making mad coins!
    But you haven’t been back there seven years yet! I only left Alberta in 2010.
    Xo Shannon

    • Thanks Shannon, you never know…they do have a branch in Canada (Toronto though)! the agency had placed me in that same job I am doing now before I left for Canada, so about seven years ago x

  2. Pingback: The Solution to your Problems | The Problem with the World

Leave a Reply

